ANAHEI Awards Winners

2017 ANAHEI Awards Winners

Association of North America Higher Education International (ANAHEI) solicited nominations for:

  1. Patrick J. Moreo Global Educational Leadership Award
  2. ANAHEI Research Leadership Award - Global Issues
  3. Waynne B. James Outstanding Dissertation Award - Global Education

ANAHEI received numerous outstanding nominations in each category. The winners were determined by the panel of judges formed from the Editorial Board of the Journal of Global Education and Research.

The judging panel for ANAHEI awards included:

Dr. Beard, Audrey, Dean, North Carolina Central University, USA
Dr. Bloom, Lisa, Endowed Professor/Chair, Western Carolina University, USA
Dr. Cherrington, Sue, Associate Dean, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
Dr. Fischetti, John, Dean, University of Newcastle, Australia
Dr. Frederick, Alfred, Endowed Professor/Chair, State University of New York at Oswego, USA
Dr. Waynne James, Professor, University of South Florida, USA
Dr. Lo, Deborah , Dean & Professor, University of Alaska Southeast, USA
Dr. Tilleczek, Kate, Endowed Professor/Chair, University of Prince Edward Island, Canada
Dr. Viers, Christopher, Associate Vice President, Indiana University, USA
Dr. Wilcox, Deborah, Endowed Professor/Chair, Antioch University Midwest, USA

  1. Patrick J. Moreo Global Educational Leadership Award

Mr EnverYucel

Patrick J. Moreo Global Education Leadership Award honors the contributions of an educator to international education leadership on a global scale. The Awardee will have had a lengthy commitment to the field as demonstrated by leadership positions in, and significant contributions to, organizations that foster global educational leadership. The judging panel selected Mr. Enver Yucel, Chairman of Board of Trustees of Bahcesehir University as the recipient of Patrick J. Moreo Global Education Leadership Award.  Mr Yucel has been an educational entrepreneur for 45 years receiving awards from Turkish National Grand Assembly and Secretary General of UN for his contributions to global education. He established 6 universities in 3 continents, 150 K-12 schools and is serving 150.000 students internationally. He offers scholarships to students in-need, including Syrian refugees, that is worth of $2.5 million each year.

This award is named after Dr. Patrick J. Moreo, Dean, University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee. Dr. Patrick J. Moreo has been an educational leader for more than 25 years, serving in positions at the University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee, University of Nevada Las Vegas, Oklahoma State University, New Mexico State University and Penn State University. He is currently serving as the Dean of the College of Hospitality and Tourism Leadership at the University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee. Dr. Moreo is dedicated to internationalizing education at the student and faculty level. In his tenure, he has created and continues to create numerous global programs for students that reach beyond the classroom. He is also a mentor, guide, and advisor to many doctoral students from around the world. This award was created to honor his excellence and dedication to global education.

2. ANAHEI Research Leadership Award- Global Issues

ANAHEI Research Leadership Award honors the contributions of an educator to research in the field of global issues and/or education. The awardee should be conducting, publishing research that focuses on global issues and education, be involved in leadership activities in research in global issues and/or education (e.g. editing a journal, serving on editorial boards, serving on scientific committees of global conferences), disseminating his/her research in international outlets, therefore, allowing his/her research to impact our society, mentoring of graduate students, helping them advance in their research careers in international education. The Awardee will have had a lengthy commitment to the field as demonstrated by research publications in global issues and/or education.The judging panel selected Dr. Rita Verma of Adelphi University as the recipient of ANAHE Research Leadership Award.




3. Waynne James Outstanding Dissertation Award- Global Education

Dr. Sarah LangeWaynne James Outstanding Dissertation Award- Global Education honors an individual whose dissertation makes an outstanding contribution to the field of global education. To be considered outstanding, the dissertation should make an interesting contribution to advancing new ideas or new frameworks of thinking in the field of global education; strongly incorporate relevant theoretical and empirical literature; demonstrate appropriate analysis and interpretation of the research results; offer interesting (and warranted) inferences regarding the theoretical and applied implications of the findings and suggest promising directions for future research; and logically, succinctly, and clearly present the ideas.

The judging panel selected Dr. Sarah Lange of Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, Germany as the recipient of 2017 ANAHEI Outstanding Dissertation Award.